I’m not like them

“Comparison is the thief of joy”.

You are not meant to be like anyone else because you are a unique creation. You are the person you are by design. You are the way God made you to be.

So often I have struggled because I didn’t think I was like other people; I didn’t have their gifting, I didn’t have their looks, I didn’t have their cleaning gene, I didn’t have friends, I didn’t have their godliness, I loved reading/they didn’t, I wasn’t married/they were, I loved studying/they didn’t – the list goes on and on.

Theodore Roosevelt said that comparison is the thief of joy. That’s so true.Comparison imprisons us and holds us back. It lies to us. It tells us that we are not this enough or that  enough – that we are not enough. Feelings of inadequacy cripple us, we can feel shame about our shortcomings. Comparison breeds insecurity.

When God had finished His creation He “saw everything that he had made, and behold, it was very good”(Gen 1:31) We are part of that beautiful creation with all its diversity. Ps 139 says that God knitted us together in our mother’s womb (v13). We are a unique creation each one different to another. Our uniqueness contributes to the multi-faceted, multi-coloured diversity that is the kingdom of God.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Each of us has a unique path that only we can walk. We all have so much to give but it will have different expressions. Our individual character and strengths will be invaluable in any team we are part of as there will not be anyone else quite like you. We are meant to complement one another not to be clones of each other.

I am part of a team of women who are all so very different. We have learned to appreciate one another’s unique contribution to the team and to actively encourage it. Some of us are articulate, some are introvert, some extrovert, some are incredibly creative, some have amazing spiritual insight, some have incredible faith to pray for the sick, some have great wisdom, some are able to take any opportunity to pray for people they meet and to share the gospel with them. We have learned to make room for one another because we need and value what each one has to bring to the team. In an environment of encouragement we have each grown in confidence to be the people that we truly are. We need each other.

We could spend our whole lives wishing we were “more like him” or had “a ministry like her” but our Father has already given us everything we need for life and godliness. We already have all that we need to prosper in God’s kingdom. It is a huge relief to finally realise that it is ok to be me with all my quirks and idiosyncrasies. Not only that, but to learn that I can be totally confident and at ease with myself and that’s ok. It is all because I have a Father who loves me. He is the one who validates who I am.

 

 

 

Photo Credit: Emu © Tonis Valing Dreamstime Stock Photos

2 thoughts on “I’m not like them”

Leave a Reply

