Let’s Start Moving Mountains!

It only takes faith like a mustard seed

What you can see in the photo above is a mustard seed. It is a tiny, insignificant little thing but Jesus has something to say about this miniscule object.

“For truly, I say to you, if you have faith like a grain of mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’, and it will move, and nothing will be impossible for you.” (Matt. 17:20)

I have been thinking about this Scripture a lot recently especially because I pray for people every week as part of the prayer team at my church. Each week we pray for the sick, those who want to meet with God, and those with practical needs . I long to see breakthrough in people’s lives. We are beginning to see healings and of course God has been answering prayer in other ways too.But I want to see more. I want to see Jesus’ words fulfilled in me:

 “Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father. 13 Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If you ask me for anything in my name, I will do it.” (Jn. 14:12-14)

So I have been thinking about faith and asking myself do I have faith the size of a grain of mustard seed? I believe the answer is yes. Each of us who have put our trust in Jesus for our salvation has already answered a big question of faith, “Is there a God”. Our answer was yes when we put our trust in God to be saved. We have already exercised faith to do that. The Bible tells us that it is by grace through faith that we were saved and that faith is the gift of God. (Eph.2:8) It is not something I can work up nor do I need to wait until I have great faith   This is great news!  I already have been given the gift of faith. I just need to use it.

Cloud 1 (1)So how do I put my mustard seed faith to work? I need to start identifying mountains and telling them to move NOW! I find I can settle for praying to a “procrastinator God” who might get around to answering my prayers one day. That is not Biblical thinking. God promises to answer prayer, to heal the sick, provide for us etc. I need to get my praying in line with the Scripture and to believe that God will answer my prayer (there is no point in praying if we don’t believe that! )

We see people praying in the New Testament with an expectation that people would be healed straightaway. I know that not everyone was healed but many were. I need an expectation that God will act. Where does that come from? From the knowledge that God is good, that He loves us and He responds to our faith, that he has made promises to us and from a long record of answered prayer.(see here)

I love to read books about healing; not just the theology but true stories of people today who have been healed. This really encourages my faith. If God can do it for them then why not for me (or you)?

We need to act upon our faith, to step out and ask God to act. This means praying for people when they are sick, praying for jobs for people who are unemployed, praying for financial provision for those in need. Our faith means that we really do have an answer for these things; God himself responds to that faith.

File_000 (17)I have stuck my tiny mustard seed in the front of my Bible to remind me that I have enough faith to see mountains move and that nothing is impossible for me. I am determined to keep praying for impossible situations and to keep asking God for more.

What are the mountains in your life? Get out that mustard seed faith and start praying!

Other related blogs Painting The Fence, The Impossible List

photo credits:
All photos belong to me and  cannot be used without permission. Thank you!
Mountain of the Impossible generated on Tagul.com

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

